5 Things That Will Brighten Up Your Day

We all have those days where we just don’t feel good and if we could we would just stay in bed all day. But we don’t want every day to be like this. In general we want to be motivated and productive and just feel happy. In this blog post I’m going to talk about five things that helped me overcome being moody. These five things are going to make you feel better and just make you shine!

sun emojii

Listen To Happy Music

One thing that always helps me to set the mood is listening to music. Now, it is important if you want to be motivated and in a good mood, that you play happy music! Don’t play sad and emotional songs because they are just going to make you feel worse… The first thing I normally do in the morning is to play my “Wake Up Playlist” which is full of motivational songs that get me going. Music has the effect of changing and determining your emotions. So, if you are already in a good mood right after waking up, it is going to determine your outlook on the upcoming day. Of course you can’t solve problems with music but it helps you to look at them in a different way.

Music, a must have to stay happy and positive! 

Make a Small Goal

Another thing that I love to do, either every day or every week, is to write a To-Do List. It helps me to stay organised and focused. For me To-Do Lists are essential, in order to not just wander around without a plan, but to stay productive and busy. Personally, I love setting myself a small goal everyday, because there is no better feeling than attaining a goal! Your daily goal can be anything, like going to the gym, bringing out the trash, eating healthy, cleaning your room, reading a chapter in a book, drinking two liters of water…. It can literally be anything as long as it is possible to attain in one day! As soon as you attain that goal you will feel proud and happy.

Attaining a goal can brighten up your day!

Give Compliments

You know the feeling when you get a nice message or compliment from someone? Most of the time you feel very appreciated and happy. The same effect has giving a compliment to someone else. It is not always about the taking, also giving can make you feel completed and happy. Therefore try to tell someone at least once a day what you like about her/him. That someone doesn’t even have to be someone you know, it can also be a stranger. Just tell someone how much you like something what he/she is doing or wearing. Many times their reaction will also make you happy and feel good about yourself.

Make someone smile and you will smile. 

Keep Moving

For me it always helps to stay physically active. Especially when I had a bad day, one session in the gym can brighten up my mood again. Exercising can really help to let go of everything and to refresh your thoughts. You don’t even have to go all out in the gym, small walk in the fresh air, meditation, yoga or dancing have the same effects. Staying active is essential for not only your physical health but also for your mental health. It allows you to focus on something else and to work different parts of your body.

Move into a good mood. 

Write a Diary

Sometimes you are so focused on the bad things that happen, that you easily forget about the good things. Writing regularly a diary really helped me to process feelings better and to get rid of negative thoughts. A diary is very private, therefore you don’t have to hold back and you can let it all out. When I write in my diary I normally talk about my day, what happened and how it made me feel. But another thing that I found really effective was to write three things down that I really appreciated that day and that made me happy. Those can be small things like someone holding the door for you, getting a good grade in a test or having a nice conversation with somebody. Anything that made you feel good in that specific moment. This kind of processing will make you feel better about the bad things, that might have happened, and about your day and self in general.

Write to let go and to appreciate your life.

Leave a comment